Garlic Honey Soy Salmon with Baked Summer Squash, Zucchini and Rice Pilaf

SalmonZucch.pngGuys. I never cook. I don’t want to say I hate it, but I do. I have zero patience for cooking and I’m usually too hungry while cooking that I just end up very, very irritable. Yesterday I told Matt I’d cook while he did his fantasy draft and I made a thing of beauty.

Here’s a super easy salmon, rice and veggies recipe for a healthy dinner that will leave your with plenty of leftovers.

I love salmon, it’s meaty like chicken and doesn’t taste too fishy, just don’t look at a picture of what they look like because it’ll ruin everything. It’s a perfect meal when you want to be a little healthy as well. It’s packed full of omega-3 fatty acids, loaded with protein, vitamin D and iron. We got a Labor Day steal with 1.5lbs of sockeye salmon for about $13! Sockeye has 27g of protein and around 5g of good fats in a 3.5oz serving. That’s WILD.

I started off my cutting the salmon into thirds (each being 8oz. portions) cut the part closest to the tail a little longer to make up for lack of meat at the end. I made a quick marinade. I stress the term quick because I do not like things that take a long time. I sprinkled some sea salt on the salmon to allow the marinade to really get into the meat (something Matt suggested as someone who knows a thing about food). I threw the salmon into a tupperware with the marinade in the fridge for about 30 minutes while I prepped the veggies.

Marinade Ingredients: 1 tablespoon of lite soy sauce, 1 1/2 tablespoons of honey, a little more than a teaspoon of minced garlic, and 1 teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil. Mix it up, give it a quick taste, adjust to your liking and put the salmon in meat down.

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees right now, I waited until after and stood in the kitchen for a little while just waiting.

Once the salmon was soaking up some flavor I washed my veggies and started slicing up some summer squash and zucchini. I had two zucchs and a squash. I love me some zucchini, I swear I could eat it every day and never get sick of it. I sliced them all up about the same thickness so they’d cook similarly and lined a pan with foil. I drizzled EVOO over the pan, laid the veggies, sprinkled some sea salt, a ton of pepper, and lots and lots of feta. These are gonna go on the bottom rack for about a half hour. Keep checking on them, I wish mine were a little crispier.

I started making the rice pilaf at this point. It was boxed pilaf, ya girl ain’t that talented. I used the directions on the back. I heated up the rice, threw in a little water slowly while mixing and used the packets in the box. This was probably my biggest mistake, don’t use the packet in the box. It tastes like chicken, I should have just made a cilantro lime rice or lemon pepper. Citrus would have been a great addition to the salmon. The rice took about 20 minutes to make so I just stirred occasionally while making everything else. Keep an eye on it, taste it when it’s thick enough, don’t overcook or it will fall apart in your mouth. I’ve made that mistake before and it’s gross.

Prep a sheet pan with foil. After 30 minutes in the marinade take the salmon out and put the left over marinade to the side to use later! Heat up a cast iron or whatever non-stick pan you’re got, medium-medium high heat and some EVOO and sautée your salmon skin down for about 4-5 minutes. Flip once you’ve got a good layer of yum on your skin and get a little browning on your meat for about 3 minutes. Take your salmon off the cast iron and onto your sheet pan skin down, pour the rest of your marinade over the top and bake it in the oven for 10-12 minutes. All my times are a range because I’m always checking my food to see if it’s time! Salmon is done when you can flake off the meat easily with a fork, try not to overcook or it’ll be a little dry.

I realized after everything was out of the oven that I had no plates so I used bowls to plate it up. A scoop of pilaf, I’d suggest not putting too much on your plate because it’s the heaviest part of the dish and it gets to be too much if you overdo it. I cut one of the 8oz. portions in half so Matt and I eat ate about 4oz. and it was perfect for me. I also threw about a cups worth of veggies in my bowl (and went back for more). We had so much food left over by the end of it which is another reason why this recipe is magical.

Lean meat and a bunch of baked veggies are a go-to in my apartment. Try it out, it’s a delicious, healthy meal that doesn’t take too long. Pair with a glass (or three) of white wine for a even better night.

 

 

Leave a Reply

